PacT Lab

WORKING WITH BUSINESS

Members of PaCT Lab collaborate with practitioners to ensure transfer of knowledge into industry and to support the application of research findings into the business world.

NEWS AND EVENTS

More latest news and events available on twitter.

PhD Studentships 2017

About the Studentships

 

Northumbria University (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) has 8 PhD studentships available in the subjects of design, human-computer interaction, social computing and related areas. Each studentship includes a full stipend, paid for three years at RCUK rates for 2017/18 (this is yet to be set, in 2016/17 this is £14,296 pa) and fees (Home/EU £4,350 / International £13,000 / International Lab-based £16,000). The deadline for applications is 20th January 2017, with each studentship due to commence in October 2017.

Please see the links below and get in touch with the named contacts for further information.

 

Based in PaCT Lab

 

Digital Risks for Older Adults

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81624&LID=2714

Contact Pam Briggsp.briggs@northumbria.ac.uk

 

The Impact of Social Media Outreach and Engagement on Health Information Seeking and Risk Perceptions During Infectious Disease Outbreaks

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81625&LID=2714

Contact Lynne Coventry: lynne.coventry@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Around Northumbria University

 

Design to Support Online Identity Management for Women Living with HIV

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81632&LID=1151

Contact Abigail Durrant: abigail.durrant@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Designing for Crowdfunding Social Innovation

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81639&LID=1151

Contact Jo Briggs: jo.briggs@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Participatory Design Fiction for Alternate Civics

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81641&LID=1151

Contact John Vines: john.vines@northumbria.ac.uk

 

The value of craft sensibilities in technology orientated Maker and Hack communities

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81645&LID=1151

Contact Justin Marshall: justin.marshall@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Social computing for food and sustainable living

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81718&LID=2712

Contact Adrian Clear: adrian.clear@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Whole Body Interactions: standing user interfaces for the next generation interaction

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81586&LID=2712

Contact Nick Dalton: nick.dalton@northumbria.ac.uk

 

What is the role of brokers and brokerage in the appropriation of Assistive Technologies in dementia care?

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81619&LID=2714

Contact Katie Brittain: katie.brittain@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Human Building Interactions

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81716&LID=2712

Contact Leslie McIntyre: lesley.mcintyre@northumbria.ac.uk

 

Could Skype/FaceTime combat loneliness in the elderly?

https://www.findaphd.com/search/ProjectDetails.aspx?PJID=81630&LID=2714

Contact Thomas Pollet: thomas.pollet@northumbria.ac.uk